SCRUM BEYOND | OPEN SPACE

Scrum Beyond

a very canny “uncanny” open-space event

Francis Laleman
8 min readSep 26, 2022

--

photo by flaleman, June 2021

How about Scrum beyond [whatever you thing Scrum is actually for]?

The Scrum Beyond Software online open space that ran for 24 hours around the world in the last weekend of September 2022 has been a memorable event by all means.

Here are some reasons why bringing Scrum beyond [younameit] makes a lot of sense.

1

The idea of lifting Scrum Beyond might be seen by the orthodox as a somewhat silly, if not a weird or outrageous undertaking. But wait a minute.

Even with an atypical background in education and learning theory, I have had the good fortune of getting in touch with the Scrum scene and the Scrum community relatively early in its history — and I have had even better luck in finding on my track, the author of The People’s Scrum, who quickly became my friend and my mentor, and who helped me deepen my path of being a Scrum practitioner at the very edge of the software development world, and beyond.

--

--

Francis Laleman

a husband, father, painter, writer, educationist, designer, facilitator. author of “Resourceful Exformation” (a book on facilitation) available from Amazon.